Camp Florida Property Owners Association

Lake Placid, Florida 33852

Annual BOD Minutes

Camp Florida Property Owners Association


Saturday, February 17, 2018

 1.  Meeting was called to order by President Ridley at 10:06 am.

 2.  Ridley led the Pledge of Allegiance.

 3.  Roll call was taken by President Ridley.  Directors present were: Rodd Blakeslee, Dan Wood and Bruce Ridley.  Blackwell and Myall were absent. Ridley asked the Election Committee if a quorum was established.  Ron Hazelton advised that a quorum had been established.  Meeting continued.

 4.  New Members that had not been introduced in any prior meetings were introduced.

 5.  Minutes for the 2017 Annual Meeting were read by Ridley.  Motion to accept the minutes as read was made by R. Vedder, seconded by Joanne Schilling.  Motion passed.

6.  Copy of Year end Treasurer's report was distributed.  Discussion ensued.  Ridley commented that during the March Business Meeting, we would be looking at increasing the Quarterly Assessment.

 7. Old Business

 A.  Ridley explained trash collection changes--New recycling container has been delivered and new guidelines were explained.  We will be recycling paper, cardboard, cans and plastic bottles.  No plastic bags allowed.

 B.  Ridley explained that we would like everyone to wear a name badge and Peg Murray was introduced and named as Badge Contact.

C.  Booster Club representative Jerry Bowers announced that the club would be donating $3,200 to be used by the Board as they see necessary.

8.  New Business--None reported.

9.  Election of Directors--Ridley turned the meeting over to the President Pro Tem, Jim Lucey and the Election Committee.  Jim Lucey discussed how the committee works.  Ron Hazelton introduced the members of the committee and described how the procedure worked.  Jim Lucey opened the floor to nominations.  None were provided.  Motion to close nominations was made by John Johnson, seconded by Darrel Richards.  Nominations closed.  The candidates that were running were introduced, Gary Blackwell and Bruce Ridley.  Since there were two candidates running for two vacancies, the Election was moot.  Ridley took his place on the Board.  President Pro Tem Lucey asked the Board for a nomination for President, Ridley was nominated and elected.  President Ridley proposed a slate of Board positions, Rodd Blakeslee as Vice President, Fred Myall as Secretary and Dan Wood as Treasurer.  All were approved.

10.  President Ridley asked again if there were any comments from the membership.  Several topics were brought up and discussed.  Of note, there was no one at the meeting outside of Winter Residents.

Results of the Election were that Gary Blackwell were elected to two year terms.  Positions on the Board were as follows:

Bruce Ridley-President

Rodd Blakeslee-Vice President

Fred Myall-Secretary

Dan Wood-Treasurer

Gary Blackwell-Director

11.  There will be a Work Session for the new directors on Thursday, March 1, 2018, time to be determined.

12.  With all scheduled business completed, motion to adjourn was made by John Johnson.  Meeting was adjourned at 11:25 am by President Ridley.

Respectfully submitted by,

Bruce Ridley